ALB访问:Jean-François Harvey,哈维法律集团全球管理合伙人和创办人

ALB访问:Jean-François Harvey,哈维法律集团全球管理合伙人和创办人

Jean-Francois Harvey于1992年在加拿大蒙特利尔创立了哈维法律集团(HLG)。他在渥太华大学获得法律学士学位,并于1992年被魁北克律师协会录取。目前是魁北克和加拿大律师协会的成员,他是移民法律方面的专家,为企业和高净值个人提供全面的移民法律服务。

ALB:告诉我们你到前为的法律生涯,以及是什么原因让你担任这个职务。

JFH:从很小的时候起,我就跟随在加拿大退休的父亲的脚步,成为一名法官,我知道我想走的路包括经营自己的公司。因此, 在我获得律师资格的第⼆天, 我就注册了⾃⼰的律师事务所, 从第⼀天起我就担任了管理合伙⼈。按照比较传统的方式, 律师要经过多年的等待和培训才能承担起这个⻆⾊和责任( 好的和坏的),但我⻢上就投⼊了深渊中, 28年后再也没有回头。

ALB:在你掌管的这段期间里,有什么是你的亮点?

JFH:我尽量不忘记我们在蒙特利尔和香港起步时的卑微,回想起早期的日子,我很珍惜我们作为一家公司所走过的历程。这是一个挑战,, 但我欢迎这个挑战,它使我成为了今天的律师和商人。在我任职期间最精彩的部分可能是公司在全球的发展(现在还在不断扩大!)

ALB:你从领导方面学到了什么?

JFH:好的领导是好的倾听者! 领导⼒最重要的是⼈。如果你不花时间倾听别⼈的意⻅,你就⽆法有效地领导别⼈。我们终究要努⼒实现相同的⽬标。虽然我的⼯作是对办公室进⾏全⾯的指导( 并⽀付所有的账单), 但如果不征求同事们的意⻅, 那就错了。这些意⻅不仅包括他们所⾯临的⽇常挑战, 还包括他们对公司下一步工作的更全面的看法,如果不去征求那些每天⼀砖⼀⽡建⽴公司的⼈的意⻅, 那将是浪费机会。经过这么多年, 我显然已经成为了⼀个⾃下⽽上的管理⻛格的粉丝, ⽽不是⾃上⽽下。

ALB:你如何描述你为公司制定的战略?

JFH:我们⼀直愿意并期待着开拓新的市场。尽管如此,有了在新国家安定下来和扩展业务的经验, 我们也明⽩有必要把事情做好, 并在我们的海外办事处雇佣尽可能多的本地员⼯。  我们的⽬标是取得适当的平衡,  以保护当地⽂化,  然后看看我们的企业⽂化如何能够融入其中,这让我们两全其美。

ALB:在过去的几个月里,公司面临的重大挑战有哪些?您打算如何应对这些挑战?

JFH:新冠肺炎确实让我们忙得不可开交 , 迫使我们以⽐预期更快的速度扩张。对我们专业化的需求⽐以往任何时候都要⼤, 我们并没有认为这是理所当然的, ⽽是欣然接受了。在我的管理⻆⾊中, 我注意到新冠肺炎增加了让员⼯放心的需要,因为我们各办事处的员⼯都看到朋友和亲人在困难的情况下, 所以我们从⼀开始就建立了新的制度,以确保工作环境的安全,并在需要时提供灵活性(例如,在家工作)。

ALB:你认为这场大流行病不仅会重塑贵公司的经营方式,还会重塑法律服务行业吗?

JFH:正如我所提到的, 这场大流行病已经成为我们快速增⻓的引擎。虽然我们期待着⼀些常态的回归, 但我们知道, 与过去12 年相⽐, 需求将继续上升。如果没有员⼯和完全接受的弹性工作制, 公司在这⼀时期的成功是不可能实现的。这就是为什么我们总是把尊重、 理解和诚实放在我们的内在价值的核⼼。这场大流行病并没有改变公司的运营⽅式, 但它让我们看到了灵活性。也许这场流⾏病会让整个法律⾏业变得更灵活,更加具有科技感。

ALB:在你看来,律师事务所的文化有多重要?你希望培养什么样的内部文化?

JFH:律师事务所的⽂化很重要, 但这并不意味着我们必须全面采⽤它。我们拥有全球性的办公室⽂化, 我们在各个办公室都采⽤这种⽂化, 但绝不以牺牲每个办公室存在的当地⽂化为代价。只要我们能在全球范围内共同努⼒, 为什么要去修补没有破损的东西呢?

ALB:说到这里,你如何描述你的招聘和人才保留策略?什么样的律师最适合贵公司?

JFH:没有固定的答案,事实上,我们接受每⼀位律师的独特性以及他们为公司带来的新想法和新经验。但是当我们寻找新的律师时, 我们确实寻找那些思想开放, 有冒险精神, 愿意旅⾏和以解决⽅案为导向的律师。我们重视我们的律师, 并给予他们与公司共同成长的机会。我们会讨论他们感兴趣的领域, 并尽可能地满足他们的需求。我们的业务内容不断发展, 因此我们不断地需要和期望律师更新他们的知识和技能。我们还认为, 培训是员工的重要福利, 因此我们⿎励所有⼈(不仅仅是律师)参加可能有助于他们发展职业⽣涯的培训。

ALB:你如何描述你对技术的态度?从你开始掌舵以来, 你的公司对科技的应用有什么发展?你未来两年的发展蓝图是什么?

JFH:和许多其他公司和组织⼀样,  我们的办公室从纸质办公转变为⽆纸化办公。不过,出于保密⽅⾯的考虑, 我们尽量避免使⽤云端的解决⽅案。在沟通⽅⾯, 我们有严格的规定, 在可以通过电话解决问题的情况下,  我们尽量避免使⽤电⼦邮件或电⼦信息,  因为这不仅能增进团队之间的融洽,  还能避免任何沟通错误。WhatsApp和其他类似的应⽤程序有⼀些好处,但绝对不应该成为主要的交流⽅式。

ALB:对于你们这样规模的公司来说,在这个市场上取得成功的关键是什么?你目前在哪些方面做得很好,哪些方面是你可以改进的地方?

JFH:思想开放, 以解决问题为导向, 从不犹豫质疑现状。沟通⼀直是⼀个挑战, 尤其是考虑到我们办公室的位置, 但我们保持“ 开放政策”, 并不断与我们的员⼯讨论 以不同⽅式改善自己。

ALB:五年后你希望公司发展到什么程度?

JFH:通过我们的努力,我们公司越来越强大,到目前为止,我们在世界各地已经有22个办事处。因此,在五年内,我们将更加努力地工作,以达到40个办事处,但任何事情都不应被视为理所当然。

ALB:你的人生座右铭是什么?

JFH:别吵醒沉睡的狮子。没有人是不可缺少的;墓地里到处都是不可或缺的人。

ALB Conversations: Jean-François Harvey, worldwide managing partner and founder, Harvey Law Group

ALB Conversations: Jean-François Harvey, worldwide managing partner and founder, Harvey Law Group

Jean-François Harvey founded the Harvey Law Group (HLG) in Montreal, Canada, in 1992. He completed his Bachelor of Laws Degree from the University of Ottawa and was admitted to the Québec Bar in 1992. Currently a member of the Québec and Canadian Bar Associations, Harvey is an expert in immigration law,  providing comprehensive immigration law services to corporations and high-net-worth individuals.

ALB: Tell us about your legal career so far, and what led you to taking up this role.

Harvey: From an early age and following in my father’s footsteps who retired as a judge in Canada, I knew the path I wanted to take included running my own firm. And so, the day after I was called to the Bar, I registered my own law firm, hence assuming the role of managing partner from Day 1. In the more traditional way, it takes lawyers years of waiting and training to take on the role and the responsibility (good and bad), but I threw myself in at the deep end right away and haven’t looked back 28 years later.

ALB: What have been some of your highlights from your time in charge?

Harvey: I try not to forget our very humble beginning both in Montreal and Hong Kong and recalling the early days makes me cherish how far we have come as a firm.  It was a challenge, but one that I welcomed, and which made me the lawyer and businessman I am today. The highlights from my time in charge would probably be the worldwide growth of the firm (which is still expanding!).

ALB: And what are some leadership lessons you have learnt? 

Harvey: Good leaders are good listeners! Leadership is foremost about people. You cannot lead people effectively unless you take the time to listen to what others have to say. We are in the end of the day, trying to achieve the same goal. Whilst it is my job to give overall office direction (and pay all the bills) it would be a mistake not to seek my colleagues’ opinion not only on the daily challenges they face but also on their more global views as to what the firm should accomplish next. It would be a waste of opportunities not to seek the views of those who continue to build up the firm one brick at a time daily. After all those years, I have clearly become a fan of the bottom-up management style, as opposed to top-down.

ALB: How would you describe your strategy for the firm?

Harvey: We are always willing and looking forward to exploring new markets. That said, having the experience of settling down and expanding to new countries, we also understand the need to do things properly, and to hire as many local staff as possible in our overseas offices. We aim to strike the right balance to preserve local culture and then see how our firm culture can be embedded. This gives us the best of both worlds.

ALB: What are some of the big challenges the firm has been facing in the past few months, and how are you looking to tackle them?

Harvey: COVID-19 has definitely kept us busy and forced us to expand faster than what we had in mind. The demands for our specialisation are greater than ever, which we have not taken for granted but embraced. In my managerial role, I noticed that COVID-19 has increased the need to reassure colleagues as our staff across all offices have seen friends and loved ones in difficult situations and so from the very start we have put new systems in place to ensure safe working environment, and also give flexibility (for instance, to work from home) when needed. 

ALB: How do you feel the pandemic will reshape not just the way your firm operates, but also the legal services industry?

Harvey: As I mentioned, the pandemic has been an engine of rapid growth for us. While we are looking forward to a return to some normalcy, we know the demands will continue to rise as per the last 12 years. The firm’s success during this period would not have been achieved had it not been for its staff and the flexible working which was fully embraced. This is exactly why we have always placed respect, understanding and honesty at the core of our internal values.  The pandemic has not reshaped how the firm operates but it has opened our eyes to the flexibility. Perhaps this pandemic will make the entire legal industry a little more flexible and tech-savvy.

ALB: How important is law firm culture, according to you? What kind of internal culture are you looking to foster?

Harvey: Law firm culture is important but that does not mean we have to adopt it in its fullest. We have a global office culture which we adopt across the offices but definitely not at the expense of the local culture which exists in each office. As long as we can work together globally why fix something that is not broken.

ALB: On that note, how would you describe your hiring and talent retention strategy? What kinds of lawyers would make the best fit for your firm? 

Harvey: There is no set ‘profile’ and in fact, we embrace the unique nature of each of the lawyers and the new ideas and experience they bring to the firm. But when looking to employ new lawyers we do look for lawyers who are open minded, adventurous, ready to travel and solution oriented.   We place value in our lawyers, and they are given the opportunity to grow with the firm. We discuss their areas of interest and, to the extent possible, try to accommodate them. The substance of our practice constantly evolves and so there is a continuous need and expectation that lawyers will update their knowledge and skillsets.  We also think that training is an important benefit to employees and so we encourage all (not just the lawyers) to follow trainings that might help them develop their career. 

ALB: How would you describe your approach to technology? How has the use of tech at your firm evolved since you started at the helm, and what is your blueprint for the next year or two?

Harvey: Like many other firms and organisations, we went from a paper-based office to a paperless one however, we do try to avoid cloud-based solutions due to confidentiality concerns. As for communication, we have a strict policy to avoid email or electronic message when something could be settled with a phone call which not only develops the rapport between teams but avoids any miscommunication. WhatsApp and other apps of this kind have some benefits but should definitely not become a main way of communication.

ALB: What are the keys to succeeding in this market for a firm of your size and focus? What are you currently doing well, and what are potential areas of improvement for you?

Harvey: Open-minded, solution-oriented and never hesitating to question the status quo. Communication is always a challenge especially given the location of our offices however, we maintain an “open door policy” and have ongoing discussions with our staff in order to improve in any way we can.

ALB: Where would you like to see the firm five years from now?

Harvey: Through hard work the firm has grown from strength to strength and as of today we have 22 offices around the world. So, in five years we will work even harder to reach 40 offices, but nothing should ever be taken for granted.

ALB: What motto do you live by? 

Harvey: Do not wake up a sleeping lion. No one is indispensable; cemeteries are full of indispensable people.